Skip to Content

Native American Culture

More than 20 percent of Native Americans in the United States live in the American Southwest, especially in the present-day states of New Mexico and Arizona.
New Mexico is home to 23 Tribes, Nations and Pueblos: 19 Pueblos, the Jicarilla Apache Nation, the Mescalero Apache Tribe, the Fort Sill Apache Tribe, and the Navajo Nation that crosses over into Arizona and Utah, and is the largest in terms of land base and population. Each tribe is a sovereign nation with its own rules, regulations, language, governing structure, customs, and both political and religious leaders.

Explore the pages below for additional information.

To learn more about New Mexico pueblos and the history of Santa Fe, check out our Official Travel Planner.

Download the schedule of Pueblo Feast Days and Tribal Celebrations.

Please wait...
yield optimizer