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TOURISM Santa Fe March 2016
Marketing Report
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A Message from Executive Director
Randy Randall

Randy Randall, Executive Director

One of Santa Fe's best attributes is how accessible it is and the Santa Fe Pickup is part of what makes it so simple for visitors to explore. The Santa Fe Pickup is a free shuttle service that operates on a fixed schedule through the historic district, Museum Hill and Canyon Road. With two busses operating in the historic downtown, it means never more than a fifteen minute wait at the very longest and usually a wait that on average is more like five or ten minutes. One additional shuttle services Museum Hill and Canyon Road making a full circle run from the Tourism Department Building to Canyon Road and Museum Hill twice an hour.

This free service is funded by Lodger's Tax dollars and keeps Santa Fe competitive with other cities providing free transportation in their "touristy" areas. And there is even an app that can be accessed on cell phones to give the exact location of the shuttles at any time to better define the wait time at any particular stop.

New shuttle busses have been delivered to the city and are being wrapped to give them a more distinctive appearance. The fact that they are free will be clearly indicated and the accommodation will be top notch. This is a terrific service for our visitors that I ask you to share with your staff.

Randy Randall
Executive Director
(505) 955-6209

OTAB Application Period Extended

Time is running out to add your Kids Free Spring Break offer

Tina Fey on Santa Fe

Santa Fe Cocktail Week and New Mexico Cocktails & Culture

'Business Expo + Job Fair' and 'Celebrate Santa Fe Tourism' Join Forces

Learn about new Food Safety Regulations

Santa Fe University of Art and Design Summer Job and Internship Fair

Apply for OTAB Grant

TOURISM Santa Fe has announced the re-opening of the application period for Occupancy Tax Advisory Board (OTAB) grants for use in 2016. Applications are now being accepted through March 31, 2016. Reviews of all grant applications will be conducted in early April and funds will be awarded by April 15, 2016. Learn more here.

Last chance to enter your Kids Free Spring Break Offer

Spring Break 2016 Promo Image - Plaza Story

Our Kids Free Spring Break promotion is in full swingǃ This is your last change to add your offer now through your business listings page. Just log in and click on the green buttonǃ

Image of business listing dashboard with new green button

Remember to promote your offers on social media and include #SpringBreakDifferentǃ Share your promotion on Twitter with the #SpringBreakDifferent hashtag in your tweet, and it will appear on the live Twitter feed located on the Kids Free Spring Break page.

Share Tina Fey's Interview about Santa Fe

Tina Fey on Santa Fe with Seth Myers

Everyone's favorite Tina Fey filmed the new release Whiskey Tango Foxtrot for several months in Santa Fe last year. She was routinely spotted enjoying herself all over town. On the March 3 episode of Late Night With Seth Myers, she sang the praises of Santa Fe calling it "gorgeous" and making humorous comments about her experience at Ten Thousand Waves. You can watch the interview here.

Should be needless to say that such A-List testimonial to our city is absolutely as good as it gets. This link should be issued widely on your social media, included in customer newsletters, and communicated where else you see fit. Let everyone know how Tina feels about The City Different.

New Event - Participate in Santa Fe Cocktail Week

Memorial Day weekend kicks off the brand new Santa Fe Cocktail Weekǃ Restaurants and bars, throughout the city, are invited to become official participants, and showcase a signature cocktail. It is FREE to participate.

Santa Fe Cocktail Week leads into New Mexico Cocktails & Culture (June 3 – 6) a 4-day celebration of culinary, cocktail and creative talent, featuring mixology seminars, parties, hospitality industry day, and the Chef & Shaker challenge. All events are open to the public, and tickets may be purchased on the NMCC website-

Any venues interested in becoming an official participant can contact Natalie Bovis – This is a great opportunity to be part of Santa Fe's Most Spirited Festivalǃ

Sign up for the 2016 Business Expo/Celebrate Santa Fe Tourism

2016 Business Expo

Over 100 businesses participated last year, and over 1,000 guests are expected this year. The Business Expo and Job Fair is an invaluable resource for you and your business and now will be embracing the "Celebrate Santa Fe TOURISM" event. If you're looking for new customers, hiring, seeking advice, growing your business, job-seeking or growing your network, you need to be a vendor at the Expo. This is the largest business-to-business Expo in Northern New Mexico and is open to ALL businesses.

Previous participants in Celebrate Santa Fe Tourism Day are encouraged to participate in the Expo which will have a special section devoted to the hospitality and tourism sectors. This year, both events are being incorporated together so as to maximize visibility for your business.

The event takes place on Thursday, April 7 from 10:00 am – 4:00 pm at DeVargas Center (564 N. Guadalupe Street).

Call the Santa Fe Chamber of Commerce office at 505-988-3279 to book your space or register here.

Attend the Food Safety Regulations Forum - The Greater Santa Fe Restaurant Association

The newly re-organized Greater Santa Fe Restaurant Association's (GSFRA) mission is to promote and strengthen the restaurant industry in Santa Fe and the surrounding communities. We are also keeping you informed of the latest news and resources you need to run your business.

One of the biggest changes effective March 1st, 2016 are the new Food Safety Regulations.

You are invited to attend a FREE Food Safety Regulations Forum March 17, 2016 from 1:30pm-3:30pm in Santa Fe Community Convention Center – Peralta Room

  • Come meet the people who write and administer the food safety regulations
    • Ryan Flynn, Cabinet Secretary for the Environment Department
    • Bill Chavez, Director of the Environment Department
    • Johnathan Gerhardt, Food Program Director
  • Learn the new food safety regulations and adherence timelines
  • Learn what resources exist to help you
  • Ask questions and share ideas
  • Enjoy light refreshments and networking

Please RSVP by March 10 by emailing Diana Trujillo at or calling her at 505-303-3045.

Save Your Spot at the SFUAD Summer Job Fair

SFUAD logo

Are you ramping up employment for summer in Santa Fe, or recruiting great summer interns?

On Tuesday, March 22 from 5:30 – 7:00 pm, Santa Fe University of Art and Design is sponsoring a free Summer Job + Internship Fair to connect students, recent grads, and alumni to awesome summer opportunities in Santa Feǃ

To reserve a spot, contact Joanie Spain at by Wednesday, March 16.

TSF Business Partner Meetings

TSF Completes the "On The Mountain & On The Town" FAM Trip

Spring Break Kids Free Promotion Update

TSF Business Partner Meetings

TOURISM Santa Fe officials met with the following business partners/organization:

  • New Mexico Tourism Department (Senate Finance Committee)
  • Santa Fe Hilton
  • Santa Fe Spirits
  • Hospitality Group
  • Santa Fe County
  • New Mexico Museum of Art, Exhibit Preview
  • Malouf on the Plaza
  • NM Department of Cultural Affairs
  • Big Mountain Enduro
  • Hospitality and Tourism TRENDS Conference
  • Meow Wolf
  • Santa Fe Lodgers Association
  • New Mexico Journey AAA Magazine
  • Bandelier National Monument
  • Bike Share
  • El Museo Cultural
  • Italian Consul, General Verde
  • New Mexico Garden Conference
  • Santa Fe Fiesta
  • Santa Fe Street Fashion Week
  • Santa Fe Tour Guides
  • Drury Plaza
  • New Mexico Restaurant Week Social Media Crawl
  • New Mexico Tourism Department Region 5 Meeting
  • Destination Hotels Inn of Loretto Resort and Spa
  • Ski Santa Fe
  • Tomasita’s
  • Draft Station
  • The Compound
  • Stephen Consignment

TSF Completes the "On The Mountain & On The Town" FAM Trip

TOURISM Santa Fe conducted our first press tour of the year February 25 to 29—supported and in conjunction with Ski Santa Fe. The "On The Mountain & On The Town" tour provided two days of skiing and one day of sightseeing including Northern New Mexican cuisine, a downtown plaza tour, Museum Hill, a sneak preview of the incredible "House Of Eternal Return" by Meow Wolf, and many other key destinations and VIP's including Mayor Gonzales.

The writers were dazzled by the unique opportunity for skiing thrills and cosmopolitan experiences all within a few miles of each other. Look for upcoming coverage from Randall Weissman of The Chicago Tribune, Clytie Bunyan of The Oklahoman, Jeannette Settembre of The New York Daily News, Greg Garry of OUT Magazine, Jeff Mcann of The Vancouver Sun, and freelancers Charles Bethea, Maria Lioy, Jayne Clark, and Chris McClure.

Thanks as always to our remarkable partners for making these critical projects possible as well as such big successes.

Spring Break Kids Free Promotion Update


Santa Fe offers a unique mix of museums, galleries, culture, shopping, and outdoor activities that appeal to adults and kids alike. We are inviting families to try a one-of-a-kind family vacation in The City Different. This school break, take a Santa Fe Spring Break.

The ultimate goal is to capture drive market families looking for something to do during school break and to increase their length of stay and overall spend in Santa Fe.

Santa Fe Spring Break will be promoted through paid, earned and organic media where all tactics/executions will push to and promote the Santa Fe Spring Break landing page.

Target Audience: Families with children aged 12 or younger in household, who are most likely to book a family vacation.

GEOGRAPHIES: -> Drive markets: Albuquerque, Phoenix, Denver-Boulder Colorado Springs, Amarillo, OK City


Sample banner ad

Enable various targeting parameters to ensure that TSF's banners are adjacent to relevant content such as Demo, Geo, Contextual and Behavioral

  • 4,678 clicks/5,565,592 impressions (0.08% CTR), 66% Visit Rate
  • Evolve Media: 0.07% CTR, 45% VR
  • RGM: 0.14% CTR, 71% VR
  • Varick Media: 0.08% CTR, 81% VR
Note: no one creative is outperforming the others in terms of CTR or VR. All creatives are around 0.08% CTR and between 66-70% VR

Add a 'Kids Promotion' campaign to the current Paid Search buy

1,567 clicks / 144,775 impressions (1.08% CTR)
Total spend to date is $4,885 and Avg CPC $3.12

Best performing ad groups: "Spring Break" with avg position of 2.0 and imp share of 46%, "Kids Vacation" with 2.4 avg position and 51% imp share

Best performing keywords: "vacation family packages", "family vacation packages" "Vacation packages for families" "Best vacation destinations" and "vacations for kids"

Leverage the existing radio package that was purchased through the NM Hospitality Association to increase awareness and reception to additional Santa Fe Spring Break messages within the local drive market.

Success for radio is typically seen in increased lower funnel activity such as website visits, organic search and increased CTR on digital banners reinforcing the promotional messaging.

Target: Drive -> Albuquerque, MN
Recommended Station: KABG-FM (Big 98.5)
Format: Adult Classic Hits
Demo: Women, 35-54
Flight Dates: Feb 1 - Feb 21 (3 weeks)
Dayparts: Mon-Sun, 6:00a-12:00a

Frequency: 72x spots over 3 weeks
Impressions: 137,000
Reach: 11.1% of target demo (W, 35-54) were exposed to spot avg of 5.4x over 3 weeks


Spring Break 2016 Kids Free Page

The top geo-locations driving traffic to the website are:
  • Phoenix
  • Albuquerque (radio market)
  • Oklahoma City
  • Washington DC
  • Colorado Springs
  • Tucson
  • El Paso (radio market)
  • Dallas
  • Amarillo (radio market)


Spring Break Facebook post

More than 20 posts have been shared across all social media channels to promote the program. Continued weekly social media posts through the first week in April.

SANTAFE.ORG How It's Performing screenshot

February 2016 Performance Metrics

  • 94,741 Total Visits
  • 76.4% New Visits
  • 2.51 Pages per Session
  • 2:41 Average Time on Site
  • 237,411 Total Page Views
Visitor Gender
  • 59.3% Female
  • 40.7% Male
Visitor Age
  • 8.57% 18 - 24
  • 17.51% 25 - 34
  • 17.06% 35 - 44
  • 16.17% 45 - 54
  • 22.61% 55 - 64
  • 18.09% 65+
  • Santa Fe Happenings
    • Sent: February 2, 2016
    • Number sent: 47,957
    • Number opened: 8,334
    • Open rate: 17.41%
  • TOURISM Santa Fe Marketing Report
    • Sent: February 10, 2016
    • Number sent: 1,103
    • Number opened: 374
    • Open rate: 34.28%
  • Santa Fe Deals and Specials
    • Sent: February 19, 2016
    • Number sent: 25,102
    • Number opened: 4,988
    • Open rate: 20%
  • TOURISM Santa Fe Sales Report
    • Sent: February 25, 2016
    • Number sent: 1,094
    • Number opened: 350
    • Open rate: 32.05%
*Open rate is only counted for users who have images enabled in their email or if a user clicks on a link.

Join us on Facebook See us on Flickr See us on YouTube Follow our Tweets Watch us on YouTube See us on Instagram Join us on Google Plus

Did you know that when it comes to social media metrics, there are hundreds that you could be analyzing? But the real question is, do you know where to find them? Here's where to start on Facebook and Twitter:

  1. Facebook offers the most comprehensive metrics for your business page. You can start by going to the Platform Insights page to see a list of all of your Facebook Pages currently tracking metrics.
  2. While not as detailed as Facebook, Twitter offers its own analytics for all account users. When you arrive at your analytics dashboard, you will be greeted by a 28-day summary of metrics and highlights for your activity by month.
February was another great month for social media. We are continuing to see an increase in followers across our social media channels. The Visit Santa Fe Facebook fan base grew by 1,326 followers and Instagram gained 616 new followersǃ Our largest reach in February was the "Santa Fe Aromatherapy" post - reaching 148,607 Facebook users. This was also our most popular Instagram post in February.

Don't miss this chance to engage and grow your own fan base by leveraging the city's increasing social media presence. Follow, share, and interact with us on social mediaǃ Don't forget to add #SantaFeNM or #TheCityDifferent to your postsǃ

YouTube: Blog:

Join us on Facebook Facebook
Facebook screenshot

February 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Total Page Likes: 47,641 (2.8% increase)
  • People Talking About This: 22,827
  • Engagement: 67,599
Top Ranking Post, Santa Fe Aromatherapy - February 21, 2016 at 8:30 AM
  • Likes: 8,668
  • Shares: 5,574
  • Comments: 941
  • Reach: 148,607

Join us on Twitter Twitter
Twitter screenshot

February 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Followers: 10,230 (1.2% increase)
  • Monthly Impressions: 118.2K
  • Engagement: 1,690
Top Performing Post, January: Nationally acclaimed chef remembered as generous, kind - February 16th at 10:24 AM
  • Impressions: 2,546
  • Favorites: 14
  • Retweets: 2
  • Total Engagements: 23

Join us on Instagram Instagram
Instagram screenshot

February 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Followers: 7,115 (9.5% increase)
Top Performing Post, February: Santa Fe Aromatherapy

Join us on Pinterest Pinterest
February 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Followers: 2,016 (1.1% increase)

Read the Santa Fe blog Santa Fe Blog
February Blog Posts

Dear Cupid, Take Us On A Santa Fe Getaway
  • Posted February 2, 2016
  • Views: 157
5 Santa Fe Events That Will Have You Marching Into Springǃ
  • Posted February 8, 2016
  • Views: 326
Santa Fe The City Different's Most Colorful Artists, "El Diferente"
  • Posted February 16, 2016
  • Views: 490
3 Top Santa Fe Easter Brunches
  • Posted February 23, 2016
  • Views: 909
February 2016 Performance Metrics

Total Blog Views: 4,182 (8.6% Decrease)
Average Time on February Blog Posts: 2:45 minutes

Watch us on Youtbue YouTube
February 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Subscribers: 203 (4.6% increase)
  • Views: 2,621



Target Market: Drive and Fly
Flight Dates: Feb 1 - Feb 29, 2016
20,579 clicks/4,406,020 impressions = .47% CTR
11,879 visits = 58% VR

digital advertising

PRE-ROLL Video and Mobile
Target Market: Drive and Fly
Flight Dates: Feb 1 - Feb 29, 2016

  • 1,552 clicks/385,610 impressions = .40% CTR
  • 1,580 visits = 102% VR
  • 13,644/983,742 impressions = 1.39% CTR
  • 5,294 visits = 37% VR
  • 145 clicks/448,451 impressions = .03% CTR
  • 101 visits = 70% VR
  • 1,954 clicks/832,171 impressions = .23% CTR
  • 1,783 visits = 91% VR

Target: National
Flight Dates: Feb 1 - Feb 29, 2016

  • 452 clicks/197,169 impressions = .23% CTR
  • 360 visits = 80% VR
Varick Media:
  • 886 clicks/1,212,664 impressions = .07% CTR
  • 980 visits = 111% VR

Target: National
Flight Dates: Feb 1 - Feb 29, 2016

3,869 clicks/452,084 impressions = .86% CTR
Avg position = 2.7 and Avg CPC = $2.19

Target: National
Deployment Date: Feb 9, 2016

Questex eNewsletters: Hospitality and Travel Industry
19 clicks/28,305 impressions = .67% CTR
1,007 visits = 98% VR


print advertising

Target Market: Drive
Denver, Colorado Springs, Phoenix & N/W Texas
Flight Dates: Feb 1 - Mar 30, 2016
Circulation - 344,000
Architectural Digest, Bon Appetit, Conde Nast Traveler, The New Yorker, Vanity Fair

Out of Home

billboard picture

OUT OF HOME (Denver, CO)
Target Market: Drive
Flight Dates: Feb 1 - Mar 30, 2016
3,699,108 impressions

Santa Fe enjoyed a memorable February with $3,315,169 in earned media, overwhelming last year's total by 257%. The New York Times and Los Angeles Times coverage of The Santa Fe Margarita Trail played a major role, but many other fine outlets covered many other fine stories.

We remain on a roll with the increase in winter destination coverage and highly auspicious beginnings for the dazzling Meow Wolf "House Of Eternal Return" and the highly well-received "Santa Fe Margarita Trail" both of which haven't even opened yet.

All this good news and the first two months of the year being decidedly higher than those in 2015 is nice, but guarantees nothing going forward. The time to double down is when you're winning. We all need to Say Yes To Press, respond to Hot Tips, push this coverage out far and wide on social media, web, and email communications, and provide updated media kits, upcoming news, and new hi-res photos into TOURISM Santa Fe hands proactively.

Sooner is always the better.

Please review the New Year's Resolutions document we distributed on 31 December, take action, and get in touch anytime with questions and ideas for ever greater success with the press.

News to Use, Utilize Our Press Releases

Check in with the Current Releases section of the website for press releases that you can use, redistribute or reference.

Recent Accolades named the Santa Fe Farmers Market as one of the best Farmers Market in the United States.

Gear Patrol named Santa Fe on the "25 Best Places to Travel in 2016 Adventure List."

FlipKey featured Santa Fe on the "Top 10 Destinations for Solo Travel in 2016 List."

Forbes Travel Guide's annual Globe Star Awards included five Santa Fe entities.

Thrillist round up of the "33 Best Donut Shops In America" included our own Whoo's Donuts.

Carolyn Graham from AAA New Mexico visited the destination on February 11 to attend the NMHA TRENDS conference.

TOURISM Santa Fe and SKI Santa Fe hosted a press trip from February 25 to 29 with the following media:

  • New York Daily News, Jeanette Settembre | Chicago Tribune, Randall Weissman | The Vancouver Sun, Jeff Mcann | The Oklahoman, Clytie Bunyan | Out Magazine, Greg Garry | Freelance, Charles Bethea (WSJ, AFAR, Men's Journal) | Freelance, Maria Lioy | Freelance, Chris McClure | Freelance, Jayne Clark (SmarterTravel, AARP, Pittsburg Post- Gazette)

Print & Online Articles

Here is a selection of February coverage. To see more, please visit the Hot News page at the Media Center.


Chicago Tribune included Santa Fe in an article, "Family travel five: Head for ski destinations for family fun."

Dallas Morning News included Santa Fe's Spring Break Promotion in the ongoing column, "Getaways,"" in the print issue.

The following outlets provided dedicated coverage of the Santa Fe Margarita Trail:
USA Today included the Santa Fe School of Cooking in a round-up of "Ultimate urban food tours in delicious destinations."


Liftopia included Santa Fe in an article titled, "12 Places to Fill Your Tank Before Hitting the Slopes," highlighting Tia Sophia's.

Stuffed Suitcase featured dedicated coverage of the 2016 spring break promotion in an article titled, "Kids Travel For Free to Santa Fe For Spring Break."

The following outlets were among many who provided dedicated coverage of the Santa Fe Margarita Trail:
As a result of hosting Randy Yagi on the Santa Fe outdoor press trip in October, CBS Local included Santa Fe in an article titled, “7 Most Photogenic Cities in the U.S.” Coverage was nationally syndicated to the following 21 CBS Local affiliates.
  • Atlanta
  • Baltimore, Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, Connecticut, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Miami, Minnesota, New York, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Sacramento, San Francisco, Seattle, St. Louis
As a result of hosting Jill Gleeson on the October press trip, EDGE Media Network provided dedicated coverage of the destination in an article titled, "Santa Fe: Express Yourself in the Land of Enchantment."


Evolving Kansas City provided dedicated coverage of the lodging options in Santa Fe. included Santa Fe in an article on "Historic Downtowns."

Diversity Woman included Santa Fe in an article titled, "The Girlfriend’s Great Escape."

Meetings Today published a dedicated piece on Anthony Smith at Eldorado Hotel & Spa. Coverage was published online and in print.

As a result of hosting Kelsy Chauvin in the destination, Winq Magazine published a dedicated feature on Mayor Javier Gonzales.

As a result of Joanna Muenz visiting the destination in May 2015, Latina Magazine published dedicated coverage of Santa Fe in an article titled, "Pueblo Perfect."

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