View as webpage   
 
TOURISM Santa Fe April 2016
Marketing Report
TOURISM Santa Fe
  Join us on Facebook See us on Flickr See us on YouTube Follow our Tweets Watch us on YouTube See us on Instagram Join us on Google Plus

MARKETING REPORT

A Message from Executive Director
Randy Randall

Randy Randall, Executive Director


I am amazed to learn of the number of events that take place in Santa Fe that do not get entered into our Events Calendar. This past week, I received an inquiry about a “Hemp” event in June. Nothing listed, however when I went to www.hemphistoryweek.com and entered New Mexico into their event calendar, I found that there is a hemp event in early June in Santa Fe. The producers have not taken the opportunity to list it on our calendar. For events that are at capacity, I can understand a reluctance to offer the exposure through our SantaFe.org event calendar. But for events looking to increase their awareness and attendance, it makes no sense to avoid the listing. Don't forget that more than 1million visitors visit this site every year and the calendar is one of the most popular pages. Maybe the issue is not knowing how to list an event. Here's what you do:
  • Hover over the Industry tab at the top of the home page of SantaFe.org and click on Login
  • Sign in to your account or create account if you do not have one.
  • Click MANAGE MY EVENTS.
  • Click ADD A NEW EVENT. Fill out the form and click ADD EVENT to submit your event.
  • Your event info will need to be validated before it shows up on the site. The validation process may take up to 48 hours.
If you have questions please contact Phyllis Ortiz at peortiz@santafenm.gov or 505.955.6214.

Please put events on the SantaFe.org calendar, the sooner the better since visitors are planning for their future visits to Santa Fe. This is the best and easiest way to increase your events visibility and success - and it's free. Together let's ensure that the event calendar on SantaFe.org is the most complete and convenient way for residents and visitors to know all the exciting things that are going on in Santa Fe-The City Different.

Randy Randall
Executive Director
TOURISM Santa Fe
(505) 955-6209
rrandall@santafenm.gov



MARKETING ACTION ITEMS
 
Santa Fe Visitor Survey - We Need Your Helpǃ

Vote and Show your Love for Santa Fe

Add Instagram to Business Listings

Santa Fe Margarita Trail on santafe.org

Who has the Best Green Chile Cheeseburger in New Mexico?

Vote Santa Fe Best Small College Town

Spring Break 2016 Kids Free Wrap Up Meeting



Santa Fe Visitor Survey - We Need Your Helpǃ


TOURISM Santa Fe is kicking off a Visitor Survey and Analysis project with DestiMetrics. It has been several years since we have completed a visitor survey, and all of us need updated visitor information to fine tune our marketing plans. To be successful in this effort we are going to need our business partners to help get the Visitor online survey out to as many Santa Fe visitors as possible.

In the next two weeks we will be working on the Visitor Survey that tourism business partners can send out to their databases. This effort does not require the business partner to provide us any of their database addresses.

We will provide the survey request and link for each business partner to send out. TOURISM Santa Fe will be putting together a Santa Fe 2 night getaway sweepstake drawing prize to be used to entice visitors to complete the survey. In preparation, please reply to cmdelgado@santafe.org as to your willingness to participate by sending the online survey to your database. Let me be sure you understand that we are not asking for your database to participate. Thank you for your support. If there are any questions please contact Cynthia at 505-955-6212 or at cmdelgado@santafe.org.


Vote and Show your Love for Santa Fe


Show your Love for Santa Fe newsletter screenshot

There are a two more days to vote for Santa Fe in Travel + Leisure's America's Favorite Places Survey - www.travelandleisure.com/afp. In most cases, please use Five Stars in each category other than "beaches," "geeky," "rude,"" and "snobby." You can vote more than once per day. At the end of the survey be sure to enter a sweepstakes for a $3,000 gift card for a trip to your favorite place in America. The survey runs through 4:00 p.m. MDT on Friday, April 15.

The elite Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice is now live at www.cntraveler.com/rca/2016. Please take a moment to create an account to vote. You can vote once per email registration. Santa Fe is listed in the Cities section. Santa Fe scored #6 "Best City In The World" last year among Conde Nast Traveler readers, surpassing Paris, Rome and others. We need your help to reach achieve this again in 2016ǃ There are 15 Santa Fe properties in Hotels & Resorts and Ski Santa Fe is in Ski Resorts. By voting in each category you get extra chances to win a "trip of a lifetime" to Europe.

As always, we're using email, social media and all communications channels to spread the word and we encourage you to do the same. Be sure to promote these voting opportunities to your customer lists, colleagues, friends and family.


Add Instagram to Business Listings


You now have the option to add your Instagram account to your business listing. Login to your account on santafe.org; click on the EDIT LISTING button from your dashboard; add your Instagram URL in the appropriate section. If you haven't already, now's your chance to also link your Facebook, Twitter and Open Table accountsǃ


Santa Fe Margarita Trail on santafe.org


Margarita Trail Logo

The official launch of the Santa Fe Margarita Trail is just around the corner. Beginning on May 5 Cinco de Mayo, trail adventurers will have the opportunity to discover Santa Fe's unique culture and culinary creativity by enjoying 31 specialty-crafted margaritas made famous by Santa Fe's most beloved restaurants and bars. This program is sure to become another signature Santa Fe adventure. Learn more at the Santa Fe Margarita Trail.


Who has the Best Green Chile Cheeseburger in New Mexico?


News alertǃ Santa Fe is represented in the nominee list for a USA TODAY 10Best Readers' Choice contest category which has just launched. The nominees for Best Green Chile Cheeseburger in New Mexico were announced on Monday, April 11, 2016, and Santa Fe represents 6 of the finalists competing for a spot in the winners list. I'm sure our Santa Fe nominees would appreciate the support of all of us during their campaign to win.

The Santa Fe nominees for Best Green Chile Cheeseburger in New Mexico are:
  • Bang Bite Filling Station
  • Blake's Lotaburger
  • Del Charro Saloon
  • Mine Shaft Tavern
  • Santa Fe Bite
  • Shake Foundation
Voting is open now, runs for four weeks only and ENDS ON Monday, May 9th, 2016 at 11:59am EDT. You can rock the vote at www.10best.com/awards/travel/ and of course we encourage you to share the contest URL with your social network. The public can vote once per day, per category.
To follow live voting action (and discover the most active campaigns for award categories), search #10BestChoice on Twitter (we are @10Best).


Vote Santa Fe Best Small College Town


The current leaders on 10Best and USA TODAY's Best Small College Town poll are:
  • Athens, Ohio
  • Williamsburg, Va.
  • Ithaca, N.Y.
We need to get out the Santa Fe voteǃ The URL for your contest is www.10best.com/awards/travel/best-small-college-town/. Voting is open until Monday, April 25th, 2016 at 11:59am EDT. USA TODAY will be promoting the winners, as will 10Best.To follow live voting action, see #10BestChoice on Twitter (we are @10Best).


Spring Break 2016 Kids Free Wrap Up Meeting


Well our TOURISM Santa Fe Spring Break Kids Free Promotion is coming to an end on April 15th. As this promotion ends we would like to bring together the promotion participates and any other interested business partners to review the promotion results (advertising, social media, website and public relations) on Thursday, April 21st, 2016 at 3:30pm at the Santa Fe Community Convention Center in the DeVargas room. Please RSVP your attendance to Phyllis Ortiz at peortiz@santafenm.gov.



MARKETING INFORMATION ITEMS
 
TSF Business Partner Meetings

TSF Completes the "On The Mountain & On The Town" FAM Trip



TSF Business Partner Meetings


TOURISM Santa Fe officials met with the following partners/organizations in March:
  • La Fonda
  • Georgia O'Keeffe, Tate Modern FAM
  • Liveability, Jarek Swekosky
  • Spy Tour-Los Alamos
  • Eloisa, Social Media Event
  • Landt-Speakers Bureau 986
  • Robbi Firestone
  • Santa Fe Century (volunteer appreciation)
  • Lodger's Luncheon
  • Anasazi Restaurant (meet and greet with Chef Edgar Beas)
  • Meow Wolf
  • Eric Martines, Los Foodies
  • The Fence NM
  • Shelley Thompson, DCA
  • Fiesta Status Meeting



TSF San Diego and Los Angeles Press Desk Sides


TOURISM Santa Fe met with a combination of writers during the Tate Modern & Georgia O'Keeffe Press Tour Luncheon:
  • Bell Pollen, Vogue
  • Alistair Sooke, Daily Telegraph
  • Holly Williams, The Independent
  • Michael Prodger, The New Statesman

TOURISM Santa Fe met with a combination of 15 travel writers and publications in San Diego and Los Angeles on March 10-15.
  • James Hill, Man Tripping Blog
  • Kristen Castillo, Freelance Travel Writer
  • Cynthia Dial, Freelance Travel Writer
  • Jen Leo, Freelance Travel and Family Writer
  • Steve Rohrlick, Editor Gay Travel
  • Archana Ram, Editor San Diego Magazine
  • Elizabeth Harryman, Editor Westways
  • Paul Lasley, Host of American Forces Radio Network (travel Podcast)
  • Anne Harnagel , Travel Editor LA Times
  • Emma Weissmann , Associate Editor TravelAge West
  • Jennifer Lee , Senior Associate Editor Association News
  • Elyse Glickman , Los Angeles Business Journal
  • Alain Gayot , Editor Gayot Publications
  • Sheila Marikar, Freelance Lifestyle Writer
  • Samantha Brooks, Editor in Chief Luxury Magazine




SANTAFE.ORG
 
SantaFe.org How It's Performing


santafe.org screenshot

March 2016 Performance Metrics

Visits
  • 167,251 Total Sessions (60.6% increase Y/Y)
  • 75.5% New Sessions (3.1% increase Y/Y)
  • 2.17 Pages per Session (21.3% decrease Y/Y)
  • 2:11 Average Time on Site (30% decrease Y/Y)
  • 357,254 Total Page Views (25.3% increase Y/Y)
Visitor Gender
  • 54.3% Female
  • 45.7% Male
Visitor Age
  • 15.51% 18 - 24
  • 19.04% 25 - 34
  • 16.74% 35 - 44
  • 14.81% 45 - 54
  • 19.31% 55 - 64
  • 14.60% 65+
Newsletters
  • Santa Fe Happenings
    • Sent: March 4, 2016
    • Number sent: 47,957
    • Number opened: 8,802
    • Open rate: 18.4%
  • Meet Different In Santa Fe
    • Sent: March 4, 2016
    • Number sent: 9,938
    • Number opened: 1,380
    • Open rate: 17.14%
  • TOURISM Santa Fe Marketing Report
    • Sent: March 9, 2016
    • Number sent: 1,105
    • Number opened: 344
    • Open rate: 32.27%
  • Santa Fe Deals and Specials
    • Sent: March 18, 2016
    • Number sent: 24,999
    • Number opened: 4,857
    • Open rate: 19.46%
  • Seasonal: Spring in the City Different
    • Sent: March 21, 2016
    • Number sent: 25,609
    • Number opened: 5,064
    • Open rate: 19.97%
  • TOURISM Santa Fe Sales Report
    • Sent: March 23, 2016
    • Number sent: 1,115
    • Number opened: 378
    • Open rate: 34.15%
*Open rate is only counted for users who have images enabled in their email or if a user clicks on a link.



SOCIAL MEDIA
Join us on Facebook See us on Flickr See us on YouTube Follow our Tweets Watch us on YouTube See us on Instagram Join us on Google Plus
 



TOURISM SANTA FE SOCIAL MEDIA UPDATE
 
Social Media Spotlight: Kira Randolph, Digital Media Specialist, Georgia O'Keeffe Museum

Kira Randolph

Georgia O'Keeffe's global fan base and exquisite artworks offer enormous benefit to Kira in her new role as Digital Media Specialist. Regular engagement and posts on the museum's social media platforms - Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest - gives her the opportunity to see the ways in which the Georgia O'Keefe namesake inspires people around the world.

Similarly, working in collaboration with TOURISM Santa Fe, allows her to leverage our city as a destination with abundant experiences beyond the Georgia O'Keefe museum walls.

As always, we encourage all of our business partners to follow, share, and interact with us on social mediaǃ Don't forget to add #SantaFeNM or #TheCityDifferent to your postsǃ

Facebook: www.facebook.com/SantaFeTourism
Twitter: twitter.com/CityofSantaFe/
Pinterest: pinterest.com/cityofsantafe/
Instagram: instagram.com/CityofSantaFe/
YouTube: youtube.com/VisitSantaFeNM
SantaFe.org Blog: santafe.org/blog/


Join us on Facebook Facebook
Facebook screenshot

March 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Total Page Likes: 48,678 (2.1% increase M/M)
  • People Talking About This: 16,738
  • Engagement: 66,705
Top Ranking Post, Santa Fe Street Lamp - March 29, 2016 at 3:37 PM
  • Likes: 6,639
  • Shares: 3,782
  • Comments: 409
  • Reach: 67,752


Join us on Twitter Twitter
Twitter screenshot

March 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Followers: 10,372 (1.4% increase M/M)
  • Monthly Impressions: 147.7K
  • Engagement: 1,927
Top Performing Post, March: Allyn Perez and Gary Matthewman in Recital - March 10th at 8:16 AM
  • Impressions: 2,208
  • Favorites: 13
  • Retweets: 7
  • Total Engagements: 71


Join us on Instagram Instagram
Instagram screenshot

March 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Followers: 7,880 (10.8% increase M/M)
Top Performing Post, March: Palace Avenue
  • 485 Likes


Join us on Pinterest Pinterest
March 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Followers: 2,056 (2% increase M/M)


Read the Santa Fe blog Santa Fe Blog
March Blog Posts

Put A Santa Fe Spring In Your Step With Five April Eventsǃ
  • Posted March 1, 2016
  • Views: 378
Santa Fe Year Round Fun For All Ages
  • Posted March 8, 2016
  • Views: 313
Santuario de Guadalupe - Crown Jewel of Santa Fe
  • Posted March 15, 2016
  • Views: 257
A Kaledioscope of Exhibits Opening This Spring
  • Posted March 22, 2016
  • Views: 216
Time To Plan a Mother’s Day Santa Fe Getawayǃ
  • Posted March 29, 2016
  • Views: 227
March 2016 Performance Metrics

Total Blog Views: 6,201 (48.3% increase M/M)
Average Time on March Blog Posts: 1:30 minutes


Watch us on Youtbue YouTube
March 2016 Performance Metrics
  • Subscribers: 214 (5.4% increase M/M)
  • Views: 4,535



MEDIA PLACEMENT


Digital


digital advertising

digital advertising

DISPLAY

Target Market: Drive and Fly
Flight Dates: Mar 1 - Mar 31, 2016
20,579 clicks/4,406,020 impressions = .47% CTR
11,879 visits = 58% VR

pre-roll advertising

PRE-ROLL Video and Mobile
Target Market: Drive and Fly
Flight Dates: Mar 1 - Mar 31, 2016

Adara
  • 1,169 clicks/566,964 impressions = .21% CTR
  • 1,230 visits = 105% VR
AdTheorent
  • 118,782/5,416,001 impressions = 2.19% CTR
  • 55,689 visits = 47% VR
SpotXchange:
  • 73 clicks/189,541 impressions = .04% CTR
  • 101 visits = 70% VR
Tremor:
  • 2,064 clicks/875,171 impressions = .24% CTR
  • 2,001 visits = 97% VR
Quantcast:
  • 1,079 clicks/875,171 impressions = .24% CTR
  • 2,001 visits = 97% VR

pre-roll advertising

3RD PARTY TRAVEL SITES
Target: National
Flight Dates: Mar 1 - Mar 31, 2016

TripAdvisor:
  • 502 clicks/212,414 impressions = .24% CTR
  • 400 visits = 80% VR

SEM
Target: National
Flight Dates: Mar 1 - Mar 31, 2016
  • 4,614 clicks/529,227 impressions = .87% CTR
  • Avg position = 2.6 and Avg CPC = $1.57

mice advertising

MICE
Target: National
Flight Dates: Mar 1 - Mar 31, 2016

Smart Meetings (HP4C): 81,000 circ
Successful Meetings (HP4C): 37,859 circ


Print


print advertising

PRINT
Target Market: Drive
Denver, Colorado Springs, Phoenix & N/W Texas
Flight Dates: Feb 1 - Mar 31, 2016
Circulation - 344,000
Publications:
Architectural Digest, Bon Appetit, Conde Nast Traveler, The New Yorker, Vanity Fair


Out of Home


billboard picture

OUT OF HOME (Denver, CO)
Target Market: Drive
Flight Dates: Feb 1 - Mar 31, 2016
3,699,108 impressions



TOURISM SANTA FE PUBLIC RELATIONS UPDATE
 
We had an exceptional March with $4,836,043 in earned media on over a third of a billion impressions - our best month ever, surpassing even last February when we had over $2M in earned media from coverage of The Bachelor alone. This is a 3,269% increase over March 2015.

The two big stories of The House Of Eternal Return by Meow Wolf and the new Santa Fe Margarita Trail were very big drivers, but we enjoyed a slew of coverage in all mediums across all key travel categories. Earned media is one general measurement, but the right story in the right outlet, regardless of value, can make a big difference.

We said yes to press and the both the quantitative and the qualitative results validate that ethic.

Check out the coverage highlights below and send the ones you like out via social media, email newsletters and web sites. We must leverage our coverage and accolades and make sure our own audiences—the people we know to be most interested in Santa Fe—see and read them. People respond to stories and you don't want to underestimate the power of the right story to inspire the right action.

Please review December's New Year's Resolutions document and support us proactively with high resolution images and videos, voting and getting out the vote in the critical Conde Nast and Travel + Leisure surveys, responding to PR Hot Tops and Saying Yes To Press.


News to Use, Utilize Our Press Releases


Check in with the Current Releases section of the santafe.org website for press releases that you can use, redistribute or reference.


Recent Accolades


Thrillist named Santa Fe one of ten "American Cities With The Coolest Architecture."

InfoGroup named Santa Fe a "Top Foodie City in the U.S."

Spoon University named the Lavender Shake from Shake Foundation as the "Best milkshake in New Mexico."


VISITING PRESS
 
Melanie Kaminski visited Santa Fe from March 2-5 to research for coverage in LA Explorer.

Freelancer Jerry Dunn visited Santa Fe from March 8-24.

Sarah Kuo from Trekaroo visited Santa Fe from March 16-19.

Anshula Varma visited Santa Fe in March to research for coverage on Passport to Eden.

Ray Rinaldi from the Denver Post visited Santa Fe from March 18-20 to research coverage on Meow Wolf.

Toni Dash from Boulder Locavore visited Santa Fe from March 22-26 to research for destination and Margarita Trail coverage.

Michael McMaster from MnM Adventures visited Santa Fe from March 23-26 to research for destination coverage.

Caramie Petrowsky from Vail Daily visited Santa Fe in March.

Holly Williams from UK Independent visited Santa Fe in March.

Andrew Collins from New Mexico Magazine visited Santa Fe on March 29.


SANTA FE IN THE NEWS
 
Print, Online, & Broadcast


Here is a selection of March coverage. To see more, please visit the Hot News page at the santafe.org Media Center.

NEWSPAPER

As a result of TOURISM Santa Fe hosting Jill Fergus in the destination in early 2015, AAA Northeast published dedicated coverage in an article titled, "Where culture, raw beauty collide."

The Austin Chronicle included the Santa Fe Margarita Trail in an article titled, "Day Trips & Beyond."

The Washington Post highlighted the Santa Fe Spring Break promotion in an article titled, "The week's best travel deals from around the globe." Coverage ran in print and online.

Coverage was syndicated to the following outlets: Palm Beach Post, Atlanta Journal Constitution, Dayton Daily News, Austin American-Statesman, Napa Valley Register, Fresno Bee

El Paso Times posted a dedicated feature titled, "Santa Fe tourism officials urge visit."

Dallas Morning News provided dedicated coverage of Meow Wolf in Santa Fe.

Chicago Tribune included the Hotel Santa Fe The Hacienda & Spa in a round-up of travel news and deals.

Orange County Register provided coverage of the Santa Fe Spring Break promotion.

Las Cruces Sun-News provided dedicated coverage of Meow Wolf in Santa Fe in an article titled, "Staycations and must-see stops in New Mexico."

USA Today provided a dedicated photo gallery of Meow Wolf.

WEBSITES

U.S. News & World Report published an updated Santa Fe travel guide:

Food & Wine FWx posted a series of posts dedicated to Santa Fe. The articles were written by Kate Donnelly, who visited the destination in 2015. The series included:

Luxury Travel Magazine provided dedicated coverage of Santa Fe's new museum exhibits.

As a result of hosting Jill Fergus on the March 2015 press trip, AAA published dedicated coverage of the destination in an article titled, "Visiting Santa Fe, New Mexico."

As a result of hosting Berit Baugher in Santa Fe in April 2015, Fathom posted dedicated coverage of Hotel St. Francis in a piece titled, "Live Like a Saint at This Historic Santa Fe Hotel."

MAGAZINES

Travel + Leisure included Santa Fe in an article titled, "Wonderful Regional Christmas Traditions From Around the U.S."

VIA Magazine provided dedicated coverage of the Santa Fe Botanical Garden at Museum Hill in an article titled, "Santa Fe's Botanical Beauty."

Smart Meetings provided coverage of the destination in an article titled, "Land of Artistic Enchantment in Albuquerque and Santa Fe." Coverage ran in print and online.

Prevue provided coverage of Santa Fe in an article titled, "Made for Dreaming." Coverage ran in print and online.

Lonely Planet published coverage of Santa Fe in an article titled, "Drive the High and Low Roads" in the Spring 2016 print issue.

Conde Nast Traveler provided a dedicated feature on the opening of Meow Wolf in Santa Fe.

Men's Journal included New York Deli in Santa Fe in a round-up of, "Best Coffee Shops to Unplug."

As a result of Carri Wilbanks visiting the destination, Better Homes & Gardens included the Santa Fe Farmer's Market in an article titled, "Farmer's Markets to Visit Before You Die."

T: The New York Times Style Magazine provided dedicated coverage of Santa Fe's Meow Wolf in an article titled, "The House That Art, Fantasy and Mystery Built."

As a result of hosting Matt Gurry on the October press trip, Metrosource provided dedicated coverage of the destination in a piece titled, "Santa Fe."

BROADCAST

I Am Cait featured Mayor Gonzales on the March 13 episode.


View this email as a web page to see images